Congress Honors Youth Leaders at Congressional Award Nevada Luncheon

Nevada’s Congressional Award recipients with U.S. Representatives Horsford, Lee, and Titus

Las Vegas, NV — On Saturday, March 9, 2019, the U.S. Congressional Award of Nevada Council hosted a recognition event for recipients of The Congressional Award, Congress’ highest honor for youth.

U.S. Representatives Dina Titus (NV-01), Susie Lee (NV-03), and Steven Horsford (NV-04) were on hand at local restaurant MINT Indian Bistro to provide encouraging remarks and present the coveted awards.

Congresswoman Dina Titus meets with Silver Medalist Sonakshi Dixit and her family

“It’s always exciting to see fresh, new leaders in our community. The requirements of this program are quite demanding, and I am inspired by the determination and enthusiasm demonstrated by this year’s awardees,” said Congressman Steven Horsford. “These students are not just recipients of an award but serve as role models for other young adults seeking to achieve their goals. I encourage others in Nevada to rise to the challenge and to participate in this transformative program.”

To earn the award, each young person set and achieved personally challenging goals in four program areas – Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

Congresswoman Susie Lee presents the Bronze Medal to Peyton Barsel

“With young leaders like these, our future is bright. I was so inspired by these young Nevadans for the hours of service they’ve dedicated to our community,” said Congresswoman Susie Lee. “The hard work, dedication, and passion they have demonstrated through their actions in our community are an inspiration to the rest of us.”

The event showcased The Congressional Award’s focus on local collaboration and community engagement, welcoming Nevada business leaders and organizational partners like the Girl Scouts of Southern Nevada.

“It was truly a delight and honor to take part in the recognition of our exceptional young people across Nevada who took part in Nevada’s Congressional Award program,” said David Osman, President of the U.S. Congressional Award of Nevada Council. To hear and embrace their stories, to meet each of their families, accentuates and exemplifies the value that was a part of their personal development and the phenomenal public service provided within their respective communities.”

Congressman Steven Horsford presents the Gold Medal to Ritvik Janamsetty

A recipient of the Gold Medal, Ritvik Janamsetty volunteered with North South Foundation, a local non-profit that engages the local Indian community and secures scholarships for students traveling to India.

Ritvik gave a participant testimony on Saturday saying, “The Congressional Award has been one of the most pivotal things in my life to help me learn about myself and learn about my identity.”

Nevada Congressional Award Recipients:
Leyla Akgedik of Henderson (Silver Certificate)
Zeynep Akgedik of Henderson (Silver Medal)
Peyton Barsel of Las Vegas (Bronze Medal)
Jordon Cranford of Las Vegas (Bronze Medal)
Sonakshi Dixit of Las Vegas (Silver Medal)
Ritvik Janamsetty of Henderson (Gold Medal)
Kevin Leong of Henderson (Bronze Certificate)
Jason Lin of Las Vegas (Silver Medal)
Millenia Luna of Beatty (Bronze Medal)
Amaya Mendeguia of Carson City (Silver Certificate)
Radhika Shah of Henderson (Bronze Medal)

Near the close of the award presentation, Congressman Horsford issued a challenge to his young constituents. “You have an opportunity to forge ahead. Whether it’s in Congress, in business, in academia, whatever you do, this is all we ask: Come back, give back, and allow someone else to have an opportunity to follow behind you.”

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23.

# # #
Download PDF Version