Curtis Martin Selected as Horizon Award Recipient

Photo Credit: (AP Photo/Bill Kostroun)
Pro Football Hall of Famer to be recognized for charitable contributions

Washington, DC (September 25, 2018) — Congress will honor former NFL player Curtis Martin with the Horizon Award at The Congressional Award Foundation’s 24th Annual Golf Classic on October 1, 2018.

Curtis Martin played 11 seasons in the National Football League for the New England Patriots and New York Jets and is revered as one of the all-time great rushing leaders. Martin amassed 14,101 total rushing yards in his career, the fifth highest total in NFL history.

Martin is a 5-time Pro Bowl selection, NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year (1995), NFL rushing yards leader (2004), and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2012.

His humanitarian efforts and compassion may be more impressive.

While an active player, Curtis founded the Curtis Martin Job Foundation, aimed at providing financial aid and hands-on support to single mothers, youth charities, individuals with disabilities, and low income housing providers.

His foundation even launched an initiative to send surgeons to Third World countries to perform operations on underprivileged and uninsured patients.

Martin’s selfless acts have not gone unnoticed. He was named the 2014 Father of the Year by the National Father’s Day/Mother’s Day Council and has often been lauded for setting aside 12-20% of every paycheck for charity.

“Curtis has distinguished himself on and off the field. He personifies the tenets of The Congressional Award – initiative, service, and achievement – and has set an exceptional example for our youth. I can think of no one more deserving of this honor,” said Paxton Baker, Chairman of The Congressional Award National Board of Directors.

The Horizon Award
A special recognition from the Joint Leadership Commission of The Congressional Award Foundation and its Board of Directors, the Horizon Award recognizes individuals from the private sector who have worked to expand opportunities for all Americans through their own personal contributions.

Previous recipients include personalities like Drew Brees, America Ferrera, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Bob Lanier, Wynton Marsalis, Cal Ripken, Jr., Pat and Emmitt Smith, and Arnold Schwarzenegger.

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23.

# # #

Download PDF Version