Youth  •  Advisors  •  Alumni  •  Partners  •  Sponsors  •  Congress  •  Information


National Events
Gold Medal Ceremony
Gold Nation Experience
Gold Award Event
Special Events
Golf Tournament
Charity Poker Event

The 2009 Gold Ceremony was a huge success, with 191 youth travelling to Washington, DC, on June 25, 2009, to
receive the Congressional Award Gold Medal on Capitol Hill.  With 266 Gold Medalists nationwide, members of
Congress, civic leaders, family and friends came together in the Cannon Caucus Room to recognize these outstanding young people for their dedication to service and personal growth. 

From Left: Ms. Judy Woodruff, Mr. Jimmie Lee
Solomon, Congressional Award Vice-Chairperson
Dr. Linda Mitchell, Mr. Jim Murray & Congressional
Award Board Member Ms. Mary Rodgers
Ms. Linda Ellerbee
From Left: Congresswoman Laura Richardson,
Mr. Jimmie Lee Solomon and Chairman Paxton K. Baker
2009 Congressional Award Gold Medalists

Ms. Judy Woodruff, Senior Correspondent, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, served as the Master of Ceremonies for the morning event and Ms. Linda Ellerbee, host of Nick News, served as the Master of Ceremonies for the afternoon
event.  Congresswoman Laura Richardson presented Mr. Jimmie Lee Solomon, Major League Baseball’s
Executive Vice President and founder of MLB’s Urban Youth League in Compton, California, with the Horizon Award
for his dedication to public service.  Keynote Speakers included Mr. Jim Murray, Co-founder of the Ronald McDonald House in the morning ceremony and Mr. Philippe Dauman, President and CEO of Viacom, in the afternoon ceremony.  2009 Gold Medalists Alexander Chin of Mill Creek, Washington and Joanna Guy of Swanton, Maryland, served
as the 2009 Gold Medalist perspective speakers. 

From Left: Chairman Paxton K. Baker, 2009 Gold Medalist
Colin Sorenson (NE), Congressman Lee Terry and
Senator Mike Johanns
From Left: Chairman Paxton K. Baker, 2009 Gold Medalist
Karen Pickens (TX) and Congressman Silvestre Reyes (TX)
From Left: Chairman Paxton K. Baker, 2009 Gold Medalist
Kent Willis and Congressman John Carter
From Left: Chairman Paxton K. Baker, 2009 Gold Medalist Amanda O'Malley (VA) and Congressman Glenn Nye

Youth from Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, Oregon, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming were presented
with their medals at the morning ceremony. 

From Left: Chairman Paxton K. Baker, Senator Mike Crapo,
2009 Gold Medalist Kyle Felzien (ID) and Senator Jim Risch
From Left: 2009 Gold Medalist Speaker, Joanna Guy (MD)
and Congressman Roscoe Bartlett

From Left: Congressional Award Board Member Mary Rodgers, Chairman Paxton K. Baker, 2009 Gold Medalist Kyle Zhu (PA)
and Congressman Jason Altmire

From Left: Congressman Patrick Murphy presents
2009 Gold Medalist Vinay Trivedi (PA)

In the afternoon, Members of Congress presented youth from California, Connecticut, Idaho, Kansas, Maryland,
Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Utah with their medals.

The 2009 Gold Medalists have contributed over 150,000 hours of voluntary service in communities across the country through the Congressional Award program.  The Annual Gold Medal Ceremony serves not only as a way of
recognizing these deserving youth for their commitment to themselves, their communities and their country. The
Gold Ceremony also serves as a reminder to each Member of Congress, each Advisor, each Validator, every person
touched by these youth, the power of civic engagement and initiative at an early age. The Leadership of Congress
and the National Board of Directors for the Congressional Award, along with civic leaders, parents, family and friends,
are proud of what each of our 2009 Gold Medalists have accomplished and look forward to seeing what these youth
will do next.



I have gained a genuine understanding of what it is to be a whole, productive, giving, caring, and involved individual in society.
Adam Sferlazzo
Monmouth Beach, NJ