Representatives Clarke, Maloney to Hold Congressional Award Ceremony in NYC

Contact: Derek Doyle |
Download PDF Version

The Congressional Award New York Statewide Ceremony will recognize 297 Congressional Award recipients across the Empire State for their goal-setting achievements in voluntary public service, personal development, physical fitness, and expedition/exploration.

Sunday, October 21, 2018
2:00 p.m. ET

New York Law School
185 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013

U.S. Representatives Yvette Clarke (NY-09) and Carolyn Maloney (NY-12) will present the awards on behalf of Congress.

Spectrum News NY1 political reporter Grace Rauh will serve as the master of ceremonies.

Anthony Crowell, Dean and President of New York Law School and member of The Congressional Award Foundation’s Board of Directors, will provide welcoming remarks.

The event will also usher in local leadership, welcoming NYC Council Member Ritchie Torres and Congressional Award Board Member Mitch Draizin.

Pamela Wilks, Assistant Principal of Manhattan Hunter Science High School, will be honored with the Outstanding Advisor award for her efforts in shepherding and mentoring students through the program.

Media Information
Download a list of this year’s 297 awardees (including hometowns).
Download an advance copy of the ceremony program.

The Congressional Award is the U.S. Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a young person through the Senate and House. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23.

# # #