Congress to Honor Youth Nationwide with Congressional Award Gold Medal

Derek Doyle – (301) 676-3882,
Martine Charles – (206) 295-9114,
Sharon Liggins – (818) 207-5027,
Washington, DC

What: Members of the United States Senate and House of Representatives will recognize 538 youth across 42 states and territories at the 2019 Congressional Award Gold Medal Ceremony.

The Congressional Award Gold Medal is the highest honor a member of Congress may bestow upon a youth civilian. For a minimum of two years, each Gold Medalist has logged at least 800 hours across four program areas: Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

The 2019 Gold Medal class is the largest in the program’s 40-year history.

Who: Approximately 1,000 attendees, including Members of Congress, youth Gold Medalists and family/friends, corporate and community leaders, and partnering organizations.

When & Where:

Thursday, June 20, 2019 | Gold Medal Ceremonies
U.S Capitol Visitor Center – Congressional Auditorium
First St NE, Washington, DC 20515

10:00 a.m. | Ceremony I
Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, and Wyoming.

Confirmed Guest Speakers: U.S. Senator Mitt Romney and Horizon Awardee Gail Miller (Owner of Utah Jazz, Co-Founder of Larry H. Miller Group of Companies).

12:30 p.m. | Ceremony II
Alabama, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

Confirmed Guest Speaker: U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08)

3:00 p.m. | Ceremony III
Arizona, Armed Services Abroad, California, Colorado, Florida, New Jersey, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.

Confirmed Guest Speakers: Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, U.S. Representative Brian Mast (FL-18), and Inspiration Awardee Lynn Lyons.

Friday, June 21, 2019 | Panel Discussions

8:30 – 10:00 a.m. | A Lifetime of Service
Library of Congress – Thomas Jefferson Building – The Member’s Room
9101 Independence Ave SE, Washington, DC 20540

Panelists: Gina Cross (AmeriCorps NCCC), Steve Culbertson (Youth Service America), Maura Fulton (Peace Corps), Javier LaFianza (HOBY), U.S. Representative Doris Matsui (CA-06)

Moderator: Jevin Hodge (LINK Strategic Partners)

8:30 – 10:00 a.m. | Entrepreneurship
2168 Rayburn House Office Building – The Gold Room
45 Independence Ave SW, Washington, DC 20515

Panelists: Michael Akin (LINK Strategic Partners), Sandra Evers-Manly (Northrop Grumman), Mark Ein (Entrepreneur & Investor), Cece Morken (Intuit), U.S. Representative Nydia Velazquez (NY-07)

Moderator: Sanyin Siang (COLE, Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business)

1:30 – 3:00 p.m. | Travel with Purpose
2168 Rayburn House Office Building – The Gold Room
45 Independence Ave SW, Washington, DC 20515

Panelists: Merrill Eisenhower Atwater (People to People International), Dr. Alex Cromwell (George Washington University), George Stone (National Geographic Travel)

Moderator: Angie Ange (Angie Ange in the Morning, College is Cool Inc.)

1:30 – 3:00 p.m. | Empowering Women
National Museum of Women in the Arts
1250 New York Ave NW, Washington, DC 20005

Panelists: Gina Adams (FedEx), Susan Fisher Sterling (NMWA), Gail Miller (Larry H. Miller Group of Companies, Utah Jazz)

Moderator: Jessica Grounds (Mine the Gap)

3:30 – 5:00 p.m. | Sports, Health, and Wellness
Washington Nationals Youth Baseball Academy
3675 Ely Pl SE, Washington, DC 20019

Panelists: John Bramlette (Washington Nationals Dream Foundation), Derrick Dockery (Former NFL Player), Pops Mensah-Bonsu (GM of the Capital City Go-Go), Tanya Vogel (George Washington University).

Moderators: Tommy McFly and Kelly Collis (The Tommy Show)

# # #
Download PDF Version

Media Information: Gold Medalist contact information and award biographies are available upon request.


The Congressional Award is the U.S. Congress’ only charity and award program for youth. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23.