2020 Gold Medal Ceremony

We are thrilled to announce the 2020 Gold Medal Ceremony – Virtual Experience will take place on Saturday, September 26.

The first ever 100% virtual event will celebrate 478 of America’s most deserving student leaders who have committed themselves to years of goal-setting and community engagement in order to earn Congress’ highest honor for youth.

Members of the United States Congress, partners, and industry and civic leaders will recognize this year’s Gold Medal class through a live-stream event, followed by video conference breakout sessions focused on networking and topical discussion panels.

A PDF Press Release can be found here.

A full event overview can be found here.

A complete list of 2020 Gold Medalists may be found here.

The ceremony program can be found here.

Medalists will be expected to have their cameras and microphones turned on during the networking sessions – all other segments do not require on-camera participation.  Be sure to wear your Gold Medal!

Please register for the event here, making sure to select the appropriate ticket type.

At the time of the event, please log in to your Hopin account and tune in for each different event.  You can find each event on the schedule.

Please note that panel discussions will take place via Zoom and are to be exclusively accessed by Gold Medalists.  Each Gold Medalist has received registration info for Zoom Panels via email.

Schedule of events below:

Saturday, September 26, 2020
1:00 – 5:00 p.m. ET

1:00 p.m. | Ceremony Opening & Medalist Recognition

2:00 p.m. | Keynote & Giveaways

2:15 p.m. | Medalist Break-Out Groups & Networking

3:00 p.m. | Panel Discussions

Panel #1 | Women in Leadership: Breaking Barriers and Shattering Glass Ceilings


Keira Lombardo (Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs and Compliance, Smithfield Foods)

Kerry McClean (Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Intuit)

Karen Gally (Vice President & General Counsel, Otsuka)

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (Texas’ 18th Congressional District)


Sanyin Siang (Founding Executive Director, COLE, Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business)

Panel #2 | Nonprofit Leadership: Where Business and Social Change Intersect


Merrill Eisenhower Atwater (CEO, People to People International)

Adan Gonzalez (Founder & Executive Director, Puede Network)

Deborah Rutter (President, The Kennedy Center)

Depelsha McGruder (COO & Treasurer, Ford Foundation)

Congressman David Cicilline (Rhode Island’s 1st Congressional District)


Ray Kerins (Senior Vice President and Head of Communications, Government Relations & Policy, Bayer)

Panel #3 | Entrepreneurship: Betting on Yourself


Brian K. Johnson (President & CEO, Advance Higher Ed LLC)

Brad Knox (Senior Vice President & Counsel, Aflac)

Chiling Tong (President & CEO, National ACE)

Kirk Spahn (Founder & President, Institute for Civic Leadership)

Congressman Jim Himes (Connecticut’s 4th Congressional District)


Romero Brown (CEO, Romero Brown Consulting)

Panel #4 | Race Relations & Social Justice: Not a Trend, but a Lifelong Commitment to Progress


Dr. Hakim J. Lucas (President & CEO, Virginia Union University)

Councilmember Will Jawando (Montgomery County Council, Attorney, Activist)

Courtney Christian (Senior Director of Policy and Research, PhRMA)

Jodie Geddes (Co-Manager, Coming to the Table)


David Osman (Clinical Quality Program Administrator, Anthem)