Chris Doleman Selected as Horizon Award Recipient

NFL Hall of Famer to be recognized for charitable contributions

Washington, DC (September 27, 2017) — Congress will honor former NFL player Christopher Doleman with the Horizon Award at The Congressional Award Foundation’s 23rd Annual Golf Classic.

Revered as one of the finest defensive players in National Football League history, Chris Doleman played 15 seasons in the league for the Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Falcons, and San Francisco 49ers. Doleman is an 8-time Pro Bowl selection, a member of the NFL’s 1990 All-Decade Team, and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2012.

After hanging up his cleats, Chris began to focus his energy on important social issues and humanitarian endeavors. Mr. Doleman founded the Celebrity Charitable Network, a consulting firm that works with athletes, musicians, and other media personalities to support their philanthropic fundraising efforts. Much of Doleman’s recent work has focused on veteran support and reintegration. He partnered with the nonprofit Warriors for Freedom on the Remembering the 22 campaign to bring awareness to the growing epidemic of veteran suicide. Chris is a strong advocate for the Boys and Girls Clubs of America, calling the Boys Club of York in Pennsylvania a second home and safe haven during his youth.

“In addition to being a supremely gifted athlete, Chris possesses a magnanimous personality and practices altruism in his daily life. His ability to amplify important messages is worthy of our admiration and a great example for our nation’s young people,” said Mr. Paxton Baker, Chairman of The Congressional Award National Board of Directors.

A special recognition from the Joint Leadership Commission of The Congressional Award Foundation and its Board of Directors, the Horizon Award recognizes individuals from the private sector who have worked to expand opportunities for all Americans through their own personal contributions.

Previous recipients include Drew Brees, America Ferrera, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Bob Lanier, Wynton Marsalis, Cal Ripken, Jr., Pat and Emmitt Smith, and Arnold Schwarzenegger.

The Congressional Award is U.S. Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a young person through the Senate and House. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program encourages and recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 14-23.

# # #

Download PDF Version