Congressman Brian Mast Honors 35 Students from Florida’s 18th Congressional District with The Congressional Award, Sponsored by NextEra Energy

October 7, 2022 (Stuart, FL) – The Congressional Award Foundation (CAF), NextEra Energy, and Congressman Brian Mast (FL-18) recognized 35 of his young constituents who have shown initiative, sought achievement, and provided invaluable service in their communities at the annual district-wide ceremony earlier this month.

“These young people are the future of our nation,” said Congressman Brian Mast.  “I am thrilled to recognize the talents of these bright young minds and know that they will stand tall in the face of any challenge ahead of them.  Congratulations to them on this achievement, and I look forward to seeing everything that they accomplish in the future.”

 Marshall Critchfield, the External Affairs Lead of NextEra Energy’s subsidiary company Florida Power & Light, provided welcome remarks and congratulated the medalists on behalf of the event’s title sponsor. In addition, he presented STEM Star distinctions to the medalists who completed activities in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and/or math as part of their Congressional Award pursuits.

Since the creation of The Congressional Award program in 1979, young people from Florida’s 18th Congressional District have been some of the most active participants, completing long-term goals in the areas of Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration. To this day, FL-18 remains one of the top three congressional districts across the United States in terms of student engagement.

About The Congressional Award Foundation
The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23. To learn more about The Congressional Award please visit

See full medalist listing below.

Congressman Brian Mast stands with Congressional Award Bronze, Silver, and Gold Medalists at Indian River State College (Chastain Campus).

Bronze Medalists:
Chase Bennett, North Palm Beach
Robert “Cooper” Dunkin, North Palm Beach
Amanda Grodman, North Palm Beach
Alexandro Penton, Port St. Lucie
Chloe Ryder, North Palm Beach
Ava Shelly, Port St. Lucie

Silver Medalists:
Paige Craven, Jupiter
Margaret Hall, West Palm Beach
Maddox Hoffman, North Palm Beach
Robert Linton, Jupiter
Kishan Nayak, Jupiter
Olivia Ritter, Palm Beach Gardens
Jason Rivera, Jupiter
Daniela Rocco, Palm Beach Gardens
Breanna Spohn, Palm Beach Gardens
Brennan Troup, Stuart

Gold Medalists:
Caleb Amador, Tequesta
Blaine Baxter, Jupiter
Ainsley Boyd, Jupiter
Allison Card, Jupiter
Jordan Card, Jupiter
Grace Donath, North Palm Beach
Avery Doty, Jupiter
Nicholas Forester, Hobe Sound
Owen Gelberd, Jupiter
Meghan Heilpern, North Palm Beach
Breana Huggins, Jupiter
Austin Knight, Jupiter
Marcella (Ella) Ladd, Palm Beach Gardens
Callahan Pirozzi, Tequesta
Colton Price, Palm Beach Gardens
Kate Small, Jupiter
Brandon Spohn, Palm Beach Gardens
Marco Gino Thomas, Jupiter
Giavanna Vastola, Tequesta