Members of Congress Recognize 88 New Jersey Students for Achievements in Service and STEM

WHIPPANY, N.J., March 31, 2021 – Students across the Garden State gathered last week for The Congressional Award 2021 New Jersey Virtual Statewide Ceremony. Presented by Bayer, the event recognized 87 youth medalists for their dedication to bettering their communities through voluntary public service in addition to achieving long-term personal goals. The ceremony was led by Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill, who represents New Jersey’s 11th Congressional District – home to Bayer US. Additional Congressional speakers included Congressman Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Congressman Andy Kim (NJ-03), Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), and Congressman Tom Malinowski (NJ-07). Patrick Lockwood-Taylor, President of Bayer U.S., offered opening remarks for the event. “The Congressional Award program helps recognize the positive contributions of America’s youth. Today we celebrate those students who have met their goals and found ways to give back to their communities in extremely meaningful ways,” he said. Congresswoman Sherrill was the first among the lawmakers in attendance to offer words of encouragement to the honorees. “The Congressional Award program provides the roadmap, but it’s each of you that is able to take control of the journey and make it your own with the goal of bettering our community, our state, and our nation,” she said. Joining Lockwood-Taylor was SVP and Head of Corporate Affairs for Bayer in the U.S. Raymond F. Kerins, Jr. Kerins, who is also a Congressional Award Board Member, spoke on the STEM Stars program, an initiative established by Bayer in 2018 which recognizes Gold Medalists who participate in STEM-related activities as part of their Congressional Award pursuits. “We’ve seen the STEM Stars program flourish and encourage young achievers all across the United States to explore their passion in science, technology, engineering, and math,” he said. In addition to recognizing youth medalists for their achievements over the past year, the event was also open to Congressional Award participants who are currently working on earning their certificate or medal. Breakout groups during the event offered current participants a chance to network with their peers and members of Congress, as well as learn from medalists about their Congressional Award journeys. “My favorite part was connecting with the world through my community service, and being able to take my initiatives online,” noted Silver Medalist Ishani Sengupta of Edison, NJ. New Jersey remained one of The Congressional Award’s highest-participating states even throughout the pandemic, as students adjusted their activities to complete them safely and remotely.


About The Congressional Award The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23. Learn more at About Bayer Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and nutrition. Its products and services are designed to help people and planet thrive by supporting efforts to master the major challenges presented by a growing and aging global population. Bayer is committed to drive sustainable development and generate a positive impact with its businesses. At the same time, the Group aims to increase its earning power and create value through innovation and growth. The Bayer brand stands for trust, reliability and quality throughout the world. In fiscal 2020, the Group employed Bronze Medalists: Sara Asdhir, Edison Dylan Bell, Ocean City Batu Cam, New Milford Luke Carney, Rutherford Ryan Carter, Bridgewater Gordon Chu, Warren Christian Corbett, East Brunswick Ashley Cosgrove, Montclair Julianna Costantini, Absecon Andrew Crain, Millville henry doell, Blairstown Sriram Elango, Cinnaminson Emily Esposito, Aberdeen Alexandra Faeth, Ringwood Joshua Finkelstein, Marlboro Lucia Garabo, Hillsdale Andrew Ge, Holmdel Alyssia Gomez, Millville Sedat Guvercin, Garfield Logan Hannah, Millville Nathaniel Holl, Warren Macie Jacquet, Millville Riya Karande, North Brunswick Eric Keller, Basking Ridge Abigail Klein, Livingston Naomi Klein, Livingston Aliza Langlois, Milmay Emma Lucier-Keller, Point Pleasant Beach Will Morrison, Princeton Megan Nyhuis, Ringwood Andreas Polychronis, Lebanon Vanessa Reina, Bergenfield Samuel Ringel, Marlboro Dinesh Ruben, Kendall Park Annika Santhanam, Edison Isabella Saponaro, West Long Branch Brooke Schwartzman, Pemberton Joshua Sheykhet, Princeton Junction Megan Szot, Chatham Perry Tripido, Ridgewood Mark Troiani, Haddonfield Tanish Tyagi, Shorthills Nyjeer Wesley, Neptune Taylor Whitaker, Millville Silver Medalists: Pari Agarwal, Edison Gabrielle Akiatan, Millville Jongyun An, Ridgewood Roshini Bodicherla, Robbinsville Michael Caggiano, Freehold Karen Chainey, Millville San’aa Doss, Millville Royce Jacobs, Medford Anthony Kukal, Millville Evan Kuster, Clinton Jueun Kwon, Closter Lily Mahabir, Millville Megan Majewski, Millville Sophie Malik, Summit Varija Mehta, Edison Kate Minn, Ridgewood Kristin Osika, Mendham Christopher Outlaw, Somerset Akshat Parthiban, Somerset Vansh Patel, Toms River Aaron Phogat, Hillsborough Malini Popat, Short Hills Yogesh Ramani, Edison Matthew Reiter, Bordentown Bennett Rhee, Northvale Sumedha Sabbani, Robbinsville John Santone, Medford Ishani Sengupta, Edison Jayme Sooy, Millville Siddarth Sridhar, Bridgewater Nathaniel Sun, Mahwah Shivam Syal, Edison Shivani Trivedi, Edison Noah Uzzolina, Millville Michelle Vassilev, Princeton Joshua Whitaker, Millville Gold Medalists: Sanmathi Priya Abiram Lakshmi Devi, Edison Nikhit Basineni, Morganville Christina Beggs, Voorhees Mark Faverzani, Ocean City Ved Jain, Toms River Jonathan Kaufmann, Belle Mead Diya Kodimala, Somerset Srikar Sadhu, Somerset Alexander Sanfilippo-Scherer, Spotswood Jakub Wozniak, Whitehouse Station Pavel Zhelnin, New Brunswick around 100,000 people and had sales of 41.4 billion euros. R&D expenses before special items amounted to 4.9 billion euros. For more information, go to Contacts: Name: Bethie Woodall Congressional Award Email: Name: Carolyn Nagle Bayer U.S. Email: Mobile: 201-419-0337 Social Media Channels – Facebook: The Congressional Award | BayerUnitedStates – Twitter: The Congressional Award | BayerUS – Instagram: The Congressional Award | BayerUS – YouTube: The Congressional Award | BayerUS Bayer® and the Bayer Cross® are registered trademarks of Bayer.