Mississippi Celebrates Outstanding Youth Achievements at Congressional Award Statewide Ceremony


JACKSON, Miss. – August 6, 2023 – On Sunday, 58 young leaders were honored at the 2023 Congressional Award Mississippi Statewide Ceremony, held at the Old Capitol Museum in Jackson, Mississippi. The event recognized the remarkable accomplishments of these Congressional Award medalists who have displayed exceptional dedication to community service and personal development.

The ceremony celebrated the achievements of these driven young individuals who collectively contributed thousands of hours to their communities and beyond. The Congressional Award, in partnership with Mississippi 4-H, offers young people opportunities to engage in hands-on projects and leadership experiences that foster personal growth, community involvement, and a commitment to lifelong learning. The event also highlighted the dedication of Congressional Award Board Member Linda Mitchell, who serves as the Head of the Center for 4-H Youth Development and plays a pivotal role in fostering the partnership between the two organizations.

Other distinguished guests included Congressional Award Board Member and former Congressman Gregg Harper (MS-03), who presented medals to the medalists. Additionally, Senator Roger Wicker (MS) provided inspiring congressional remarks to the students. “I congratulate each of Mississippi’s extraordinary Congressional Award earners for their achievement. These young leaders are dedicated to community service, contributing thousands of hours to our state and our nation. I encourage all of them to keep up the good work,” Senator Wicker said.

Additionally, the ceremony recognized seven exceptional students with STEM Stars, a special distinction sponsored by Ferring Pharmaceuticals. This initiative encourages young participants to incorporate STEM-related activities into their Congressional Award journey, promoting a passion for science, technology, engineering, and math.

Mississippi Congressional Award youth pose after being presented with Bronze, Silver, and Gold Medals.

About The Congressional Award Foundation

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23. To learn more about The Congressional Award please visit www.congressionalward.org.

Click here to view and download all event photos.

View full list of Certificate Earners and Medalists who were recognized below.

For media inquiries, please contact:

Bethie Woodall | Communications Director | woodall@congressionalaward.org

* = STEM Star Recipient

Molly Collins
Celia Lane*
Emily Latham
Molly Latham
Nathan McCaskill
Robert Schilling
Rebekah Schilling

Cody Baker
Cadence Barnes*
Delesha Butler
Devon Camillieri
Allie Cheatham
James Chung
Kiara Dampeer
Joshua Harrison
Aubrey Hart
Anna Henry
Claire Jennings
JaNiya Jones
Preston Keesling
John Kitchens
Lauren Lasswell
Maria Loaiza
Bradyn Long
Mariah Malone*
Amara Martin
Taylor Rabalais
Abigail Redwine
Charles Rowan
Kyle Scheer
Lisa Spalding
Christina Stierli
Alexander Tudela
Emily Wallace
Bryan Walsh
Trumarcus Wells
Morgan White*
Tyler Woods

Hayden Barnett
Layla Bramlitt
Jackson Broom*
Robert Failing
Jessica Fulgham
Cody Holliday
Katherine Pendergrass
Raychel Sanders
Lily Shannon
Mary Shaw

Mabry Chamblee
Ryleigh Crocker
Katie Evans
Parker Henry
Jonathan Hobson
Daniel Laudadio
Reed Lindsey*
Desiree Roby*
Hannah Sanders
Tashunti Trice