The Congressional Award Foundation Returns to In-Person Ceremonies and Honors 62 Kentucky Youth for Achievements in Service

Bronze, Silver, and Gold Medalists with Congressman Yarmuth, Youth Advisors Jim & Claudette Patton, and Congressional Award National Director Erica Heyse

August 2, 2022 (Frankfort, KY) — The Congressional Award Foundation held its first in-person statewide ceremony since the beginning of the pandemic at the State Capitol in Frankfort, Kentucky. The ceremony, hosted by Congressman John Yarmuth (KY-03), recognized 62 participants who have earned Bronze, Silver, and Gold Medals over the course of the past four years.

The ceremony recognized 29 Bronze Medalists, 5 Silver Medalists, and 28 Gold Medalists for their achievements in goal setting across four program areas: Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

Congressman Yarmuth, who represents Kentucky’s 3rd Congressional District, presented the honorees in attendance with their medals and remarked on the positive example they have set for their peers, “These remarkable young people have dedicated their time to helping others, to improving their communities, and making life better for those around them. This year’s medalists are a shining example of why The Congressional Award was created and of the power of public service. Our Commonwealth congratulates them on this honor, and thanks them for stepping up to be the leaders of the future.”

The Congressional Award’s National Director Erica Heyse kicked off the event with accolades for the awardees, “No one is chosen for this award – rather, it is earned, by each one of these young people”, as well as commending the mentors, family members, and friends of the program in attendance for their support. The program relies on adult volunteers who guide students through goalsetting in four program areas: Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.


About The Congressional Award Foundation

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23. To learn more about The Congressional Award please visit


Bronze Medalists:

Sahar Bayat, Louisville

Delaney Boone, Shelbyville

Kendall Church, Buckner

Markierra Dixon, Lexington

Tara Eling, Mount Sterling

Alex Englund, Louisville

Dennis Gabriel, Louisville

Israel Garnelo, Lexington

Nicholas Grimard, Versailles

Amber Hannah, Paducah

Sydney Hardin, Lexington

Cecilia Hemingway, Owensboro

Jens Isenhart, Goshen

Lelia Jordan, Louisville

Brandon Kennedy, Versailles

Kara Lewis, Morehead

Nora Mattingly, Louisville

Myla McAlpin, Crestwood

Jose Mims, Louisville

Heaven Motylinski, Ashland

Courtney Shader, Elizabethtown

Chara Stovall, Lexington

Caleb Thompson, Catlettsburg

Clayton Wallace, Bowling Green

Evan Wamplen, Lexington

Joshua Watkins, Benton

Kailen Williams, Crestwood

Madeline Williams, Richmond

Katelyn Wo, Louisville


Silver Medalists:

Charlotte Blevins, London

Brandon Clark, Louisville

Kayla Macisaac, Bowling Green

Jon Moore, Somerset

Zackary Owens, Vanceburg


Gold Medalists:

Kalea Alexander, Louisville

Tierra Beard, Louisville

Harrison Bratton, Shelbyville

Callie Denton, Louisville

Cammeron Durham, Finchville

Madelyn Faughn, Paducah

Benjamin Ferguson, Simpsonville

Natalie Ferguson, Simpsonville

Lucas Fortwengler, Louisville

Demetrius Gunn, Louisville

Emma Keeling, Louisville

Clarissa Miller, Hopkinsville

Quinn Miller, Hopkinsville

Emily Mullikin, Owensboro

Andrew Nichols, Edgewood

Everett Parkern, Richmond

Austin Reed, Buckner

Madalin Roach, Shelbyville

Brooklyn Roller, Coxs Creek

Nathanael Sangster, Simpsonville

Alex Satterwhite, Shelbyville

Alderic (Deric) Senecal, Simpsonville

Jada Smith, Louisville

McKenna Sun, Lexington

Sydney Sun, Lexington

Noelle Thompson, Simpsonville

Chloe Rae Yates, Prospect

Olivia Claire Yates, Prospect